Plug-in solar becomes legal across Great Britain from 27 August
Plug-in solar devices up to 800 W became legal to buy and use in Great Britain on 27 August 2026, with DESNZ citing savings of up to £110 a year.
Photo by Robert So on Pexels
Plug-in solar devices became legal to buy and use in England, Wales and Scotland on 27 August 2026, when two statutory instruments made in July came into force. The Department for Energy Security and Net Zero (DESNZ) says an 800 watt kit can save a household up to £110 a year with no installer and no installation cost. The devices, panels that connect to a normal three-pin socket rather than being wired into a consumer unit, have been sold in Germany for years but had no lawful route to market in Britain until now.
The change rests on SI 2026/848, the Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 and Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002 (Amendment) Regulations 2026, which creates a legal category of “plug-in microgenerator” and permits its connection. A second order, SI 2026/896, amends permitted development rights in England so most installations need no planning application. Both were laid before Parliament in July and both took effect on 27 August.
| Instrument | Full title | Made | In force | Extent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SI 2026/848 | The Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 and Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002 (Amendment) Regulations 2026 | 16 July 2026 | 27 August 2026 | Regulations 1-2 UK-wide; regulation 3 Great Britain only |
| SI 2026/896 | The Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (England) (Amendment) Order 2026 | 29 July 2026 | 27 August 2026 | England |
Source: legislation.gov.uk, SI 2026/848 and SI 2026/896.
Northern Ireland is excluded. The DESNZ impact assessment states that plug-in solar “would only be legally permitted for use in Northern Ireland if the Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2012 are also reformed, and this is a matter for the Northern Ireland Executive.” No reform has been announced.
What the plug-in solar rules allow
SI 2026/848 defines a plug-in microgenerator as a device with “a maximum rated alternating current output not exceeding 800 watts”. The accompanying Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification, version 2, published by the Secretary of State on 16 July 2026, expresses the same limit as 800 volt-amperes of apparent power with a maximum current of 3.5 A, and adds a 2,000 W cap on total DC module output and a maximum of four modules, no more than two in series.
The specification also sets the household limit. Its own scope permits one device per final ring circuit, but it records that Engineering Recommendation G98 Issue 2 Amendment 1 2026 restricts installations to one device per household, “which applies unless and until that is amended”. On 27 August the operative rule is therefore one 800 W device per home. DESNZ rejected calls for a hard 800 VA cap per dwelling, writing that “the evidence for doing this is weak considering most UK dwellings have a minimum of two power circuits”.
| Requirement | Limit or rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| AC output | 800 W (800 VA apparent power), maximum 3.5 A | SI 2026/848; IPS clause 4.1 |
| DC module output | 2,000 W maximum, up to four modules, two in series | IPS |
| Devices per household | One, under Engineering Recommendation G98 | IPS; Government Response |
| Plug and fuse | BS 1363-1 non-rewireable moulded plug, BS 1362 fuse not exceeding 5 A | IPS |
| Prohibited connections | Extension leads, multi-way adaptors, RCD adaptors, travel adaptors, plug convertors | IPS |
| Anti-islanding | Disconnect within 100 ms; plug pins below 34 V within 100 ms | IPS |
| Outdoor components | IP55 minimum | IPS |
| Network notification | Mandatory DNO notification; device registered on the ENA Type Test Register | IPS |
| Battery storage | Excluded | SI 2026/848; IPS scope |
Source: SI 2026/848 and DESNZ Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification version 2, July 2026.
Batteries are ruled out in the legislation itself: a qualifying device must not be “designed to import electrical energy” for later supply. The specification requires a prominent warning that the device is not intended for use with a battery energy storage system. DESNZ’s Government Response records that a majority of consultation respondents asked why battery-integrated products were excluded, and commits only that “the government will continue to develop evidence relating to battery-integrated products”. No review date is given. That is a different claim from the one reported by pv magazine, which quotes Energy Storage Association chief executive Jason Howlett describing discussions with DESNZ about a full safety review of plug-in batteries. No DESNZ document corroborates a review.
One solar safety question is also still open. The specification caps residual DC current injection at 5 mA, and DESNZ says it is running further electrical testing on whether that level could desensitise older type AC RCBOs. The department states the 5 mA maximum “will be reviewed once these results are available” and describes proceeding ahead of the final tests as a precautionary approach.
What the savings figure actually covers
The £110 comes from Table 7 of the impact assessment, and it is the better of two illustrative cases rather than the department’s central estimate.
| Scenario | Orientation and tilt | Self-consumption | kWh self-consumed | Annual saving | Maximum output |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | South, 30 degrees | 62% | 428 kWh | about £110 | 690 kWh |
| B | East or west, 90 degrees | 72% | 272 kWh | about £70 | 378 kWh |
| Central modelling assumption | Midpoint of A and B | Not stated | 350 kWh | about £90 | Not stated |
Source: DESNZ Plug-in Solar Final Stage Impact Assessment, 16 July 2026, Table 7 and Evidence Base paragraph 37. The central saving is derived from the department’s own 350 kWh assumption at the same implied unit price.
Two figures in the announcement do not sit together. DESNZ says the panels provide “up to 20%” of average home electricity use, but that percentage appears in neither the impact assessment nor the Government Response. It reconciles only as 690 kWh of gross generation against 3,323 kWh of consumption, and gross generation includes exported surplus, which the £110 explicitly excludes. On the department’s own scenario A the share of household consumption displaced is 12.9 per cent. The same press release also quotes Renewable Energy Association chief executive Trevor Hutchings putting the saving at up to £100 rather than £110.
Purchase prices are lower than for a wired array. The impact assessment reports that 800 W devices sell in Europe “from around £400 – £600 or less”, roughly £500 to £750 per kW, against a median GB installation cost of £1,595 per kW for small-scale solar of 4 kW or under in 2025/26. No payback period is published. DESNZ models mean capital cost at £500, plus one hour of self-installation, £150 of mounting help in 15 per cent of cases and £200 of minor electrical work in 20 per cent of cases.
Planning, siting and the fire rules
SI 2026/896 inserts plug-in solar into Part 14 of Schedule 2 to the General Permitted Development Order for England, defining it as “solar photovoltaics that are intended for connection to the relevant domestic premises’ electricity installation by means of a standard plug and socket”. Permitted development is not unconditional. The order bars installation on wooden walls, balconies or enclosures and on timber-clad exteriors, on wooden fences and gates for stand-alone arrays, and on listed buildings and scheduled monuments. It caps projection at 0.2 m beyond a wall abutting a highway, 0.4 m otherwise, 0.2 m beyond a pitched roof slope and 0.6 m above a flat roof, and limits stand-alone panel area to 9 square metres. Conservation areas and World Heritage Sites face further restrictions and a prior approval requirement. Scotland and Wales set their own planning rules and have not made equivalent changes.
The product specification adds a separate fire rule that the press release does not mention: devices may not be fitted to ACM, MCM, high pressure laminate or timber cladding, to timber balconies, or to buildings undergoing external wall remediation. Module outer layers must meet Euroclass B-s3, d2 under BS EN 13501-1, and mounting by cable ties, rope, string, adhesive tape, bungee cords or straps is prohibited.
Energy Secretary Miatta Fahnbulleh said plug-in solar “is a simple, affordable way for households to take control of their energy bills and start saving straight away”. Hutchings said that “from today, with little more than a trip to the shops, people in Britain will be able to harness the energy of the sun”. Amazon, Argos, B&Q, Currys, Screwfix and Wickes are all named in the announcement, and British Gas is quoted, but none confirms stock on day one: Screwfix told pv magazine it plans to offer the products in the autumn, Wickes said “in the coming weeks” and Currys said as soon as possible.
The measure lands alongside other household-level energy shifts Winss Solutions has covered, including Australia’s Cheaper Home Batteries Program passing 500,000 installations and Ember’s finding that batteries have unlocked anytime solar. For households on tight budgets, the price gap between a plug-in kit and a wired array is the point, a theme running through earlier coverage of making sustainability affordable for low-budget households.
Background: the German comparison
Plug-in solar, sold in Germany as Balkonkraftwerke, is the reference case for the British rules, and DESNZ says its safety specification is more stringent than Germany’s. The German limit was raised from 600 W to 800 VA on 16 May 2024 under Solarpaket I, with a 2,000 W module cap measured per metering point rather than per device. The British specification is based on DIN VDE V 0126-95:2025-12, with the UK document taking priority where the two differ.
The scale claim in the announcement is above the German regulator’s own count. DESNZ says “around half a million new devices were plugged in last year”. The Bundesnetzagentur reported on 8 January 2026 that about 430,000 plug-in solar systems were registered in the Marktstammdatenregister during 2025, equal to 3.2 per cent of German solar capacity additions, or 0.5 GW, up from 2.5 per cent and 0.4 GW the year before. The Bundesverband Steckersolar counted 426,269 registrations for the same year. Cumulative registrations passed one million in June 2025 and reached about 1.21 million by the end of 2025. The German Environment Agency has separately estimated a large unregistered population, which would push real installations higher, but no published figure supports half a million registrations in 2025.
| Year | Registered plug-in solar systems in Germany | Share of German solar capacity additions | Capacity added |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 435,173 (Bundesverband Steckersolar) | 2.5% | 0.4 GW |
| 2025 | about 430,000 (Bundesnetzagentur) | 3.2% | 0.5 GW |
Source: Bundesnetzagentur press release of 8 January 2026 and Bundesverband Steckersolar analysis of the Marktstammdatenregister, January 2026.
DESNZ projects 1.204 million devices in Great Britain over the appraisal period and a net present social value of £79.7 million, though the impact assessment notes that its results also incorporate impacts estimated for Northern Ireland, where the devices remain unlawful. The department has also earmarked up to £25 million to pilot support for plug-in panels with local authorities and mayors, a scheme whose costs are excluded from the impact assessment and which the press release does not mention.
Sources: GOV.UK, Department for Energy Security and Net Zero; legislation.gov.uk, SI 2026/848; legislation.gov.uk, SI 2026/896; DESNZ, Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification version 2; DESNZ, Plug-in Solar Final Stage Impact Assessment; DESNZ, Government Response; GOV.UK, Plug-in solar consultation outcome; Bundesnetzagentur; pv magazine
Featured image: photo by Robert So on Pexels (free Pexels license).
Become a Sponsor
Our website is the heart of the mission of WINSS – it’s where we share updates, publish research, highlight community impact, and connect with supporters around the world. To keep this essential platform running, updated, and accessible, we rely on the generosity of you, who believe in our work.
We offer the option to sponsor monthly, or just once choosing the amount of your choice. If you run a company, please contact us via info@winssolutions.org.
I specialize in sustainability education, curriculum co-creation, and early-stage project strategy. At WINSS, I craft articles on sustainability, transformative AI, and related topics. When I’m not writing, you’ll find me chasing the perfect sushi roll, exploring cities around the globe, or unwinding with my dog Puffy — the world’s most loyal sidekick.